Opti-Stain Sprayer

$ 62.99
The Opti-Stain® sprayer sprays thin materials such as transparent and semi-transparent stains and sealers.

A three-position air cap adjusts the spray pattern for either vertical fan, horizontal fan or round pattern shapes to most effectively get the job done quickly and with the best even coverage.

This is an ideal stain sprayer for staining decks, fences and wood furniture.

Videos

Tips & Tricks Spraying the Best Finish
Tips & Tricks  Spraying the Best Finish Video
Tips & Tricks Spraying Technique
Tips & Tricks Spraying Technique Video

Features

  • Hand-held sprayer for light-bodied stain, sealers and enamel materials on decks or fences
  • Easy to fill 20 ounce cup and powerful dual fan air turbine for outdoor use
  • Detail finish nozzle for horizontal or vertical patterns and round patterns for detail work
  • Adjustable suction tube for spraying in any direction
  • Variable control trigger to control material flow

Parts and Accessories

P/N 0417323
Air Filter for Handheld HVLP Sprayers (Single Pack)

Air Filter for Handheld HVLP Sprayers (Single Pack)

$1.49

Buy Now
P/N 0414368
Control Finish Nozzle Air Cap

Control Finish Nozzle Air Cap

$6.99

Buy Now
P/N 0529013
Detail Finish Front End

Detail Finish Front End

$39.99

Buy Now
Opti-Stain Sprayer is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 9.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Easy to Use; Professional Finish I have been looking for the right tool to apply thin controlled finish coats and this is it. I re-finished this seat with spar urethane and the Wagner Opti-Stain allowed me to apply multiple coats with ease...and no runs. The final project will be protected from the sun/weather for years to come!
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Great Stain Sprayer The Opti-Stain Sprayer is designed for applying thin materials. This thing is just great from start to cleanup. The package sets the tone by providing the information you need to make an informed purchase. The instructions are just right: they’re thorough while being brief and easy to read. The drawings provide just the right amount of supporting detail. I like the flow cup that helps you determine whether or not a material needs to be thinned before using. I used this Opti-Stain sprayer to apply teak oil to some outdoor furniture. The furniture is about 5 years old and has been in storage for the last two years. I put down a plastic drop cloth to work on which may have not been the best of ideas. It did get slippery as I sprayed the table and chair legs. The Wagner Opti-Stain sprayer provides a choice of three spray patterns which enables you to choose one that is just right. I was able to angle the intake tube toward the front of the tank so that I could spray downward and not lose suction. I did play a bit with the adjustment that is on the trigger that increases and decreases flow. Since the directions on the teak oil read to flood spray, finesse was not an issue. Still, I was able to keep overspray to a minimum. As the wood drank the oil I did reapply it a couple of times. After everything sat for a few minutes, I decided to wipe off any excess. The application could not have been better or quicker. The table and chairs look better than they did when I originally purchased them. Cleanup was just plain quick and simple. The sprayer used all of the Teak Oil in the reservoir so there was no dealing with leftovers. I wiped everything with a mineral spirits treated shop rag. I rinsed the tank with a bit of mineral spirits and then put a few ounces in the tank to spray it through and that was it. Cleanup took less than 5 minutes. The material the tank is made out of seemed to repel the teak oil. It easily wiped clean without any extra effort. The rinse worked just as well. At the risk of repeating myself, cleanup could not have been simpler. This thing is just great and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waiting on spring project I have received the stain sprayer and plan to use it to stain my deck the first week or so in May. At that time I will do an exhaustive review. The timing of my receipt of the product and weather in the south are not in sync
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sprayer. Easy to use. I recently got the Wagner Opti-Stain Sprayer and just tried it out. The instructions are straight forward. The sprayer is very easy to assemble and use. You can spray at most any angle with a simple adjustment of the suction tube. There are three different spraying patterns (horizontal, vertical, and diagonal) that are quickly selected. There is also a material flow adjustment. It is not very loud when spraying, no noisy clacking. Overspray was not bad. The unit is not heavy so arm fatigue was not an issue. It made quick and easy work of my project. Cleanup was easy. Not many parts, simple to take apart. I look forward to using it on the fence and deck.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wagner Opti-Stain- Sprayer Super easy to use I received the Wagner Opti-Stain- Sprayer about 2 weeks ago. The sprayer is super easy to set up right out of the box. The instructions are clear and concise. I have used HVLP sprayers in the past, so after a super easy set up, I went right to spraying. I built a manger for my Christmas display out of a piece of privacy fencing. I decided that I would protect it from the harsh Florida dampness with Thompson's water seal. I was able to use the sealer right out of the can. The Opti-Stain sprayer worked great, very good coverage and very little over spray. It used a lot less sealer then if I had used a brush or roller application. Clean up was very easy as well. I used mineral spirits to clean the sprayer. From set up to clean up it took less than a half an hour to complete the project. Over all I am very impressed with my Wagner Opti-Stain- Sprayer.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I found the Opti-Stain Sprayer easy to assemble and use. It was easy to operate and spray. Controls make it easy to operate for a novice such as me. I completed the job in relatively short time. I found the clean up to be the most challenging for me, since I hate cleaning up things! It is a great product to use and I highly recommend it for others.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy step by step instructions I am a beginner to intermediate depending on the project.. Just want to thank you for adding a viscosity cup with thinning instructions! This is huge for me! It takes away the guessing, redo and waste! I quickly stained several pieces in minutes.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product!!! I used it to stain an entire fence and I was able to do 2 coats with this and done in half the time as brushing. Only used half the stain I thought I would use since it was a sprayer. Lightweight, handle is long enough for 2 hands which helped a lot. Great instructions, came apart very easily for cleaning. Easy adjustment for the amount of spray needed and not crazy loud at all. Highly impressed for a first time stain spraying experience. I have already recommended to 3 other friends looking to do their fences.
Date published: 2019-03-29
  • y_2019, m_11, d_10, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_024964214129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wagnerspraytech
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 18.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is it good for spraying stain underside of balcony?  I need to hold sprayer upside down.

Asked by: Nancy t
Thank you for your question. The sprayer can't be tipped more than a 45 degree angle using the Opti Stain handheld.Material could get into the turbine and performance can be decreased.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-09-17

Can you spray paint with this 

Asked by: Jdog
The Opti-Stain is meant for thin bodied materials, like stain. It will struggle with paint, even when thinned. For spraying latex paint take a look at our Flexio HVLP.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-08-12

Can I use the Wagner Opti-Stain with Olympic Solid Stain Sealer?

Asked by: Wallace
Solid color stain may be too thick for the Opti Stain sprayer, although with some thinning it may work well. We suggest the Flexio line of HVLP for thicker materials, they have more power and a larger nozzle. For more tips call us at 1-800-328-8251.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-07-29

Can this sprayer be used for semi transparent stain?

Asked by: Doc66
Thank you for your question. We will need to know a little more about the coating semi transparent stain. Different brands of stain have different viscosity. Please give our technical support a call at 1-800-328-8251 and we will be able to assist you.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-06-11

Will this work with 'Wagner 5-ft 3/8-in Rubber Paint Sprayer Hose' ? I need a sprayer to work with a 5 gallon bucket of stain. I have a commercial paint sprayer, however I don't want to run stain through it.

Asked by: Travman
The 5' spray hose does not work with HVLP sprayers. But we do have one set up to do just that. https://www.wagnerspraytech.com/products/paint-sprayers/flexio-990-paint-sprayer/
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-05-28

Where can I purchase replacement filters for the Wagner Opti-Stain Plus sprayer? It seems rather odd that neither of the two leading box stores (Lowes and Home Depot) have never heard of these, yet they both sell your brand. My zip code is 37363.

Asked by: Milton
All parts can be ordered directly from us by calling 1-800-328-8251.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-05-02

Will this work with solid stain?

Asked by: Superdad721
Not as well as semi-transparent stain. It may require some thinning, about 10%. For more tips call us at 1-800-328-8251.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-04-22

how does this compare to the Opti-Stain Plus and the Control Stainer 150? I'm looking to stain a wood picket fence with Ready Seal (Oil based, Semi-Trasparent Stain&Sealer.

Asked by: NeedsHelp
The Opti-Stain Plus and the Control Stainer 150 has the same power but different designs. Ready Seal Stain is a product that requires a gun that has a precise flow control. Please check out our Earlex Spray Station 5500 http://www.earlex.com/earlex-hvlp-spraystation-hv5500. Please give our technical support team a call at 1-800-328-8251 and we will able to assist you.
Answered by: Technical Support
Date published: 2019-03-21
  • y_2019, m_11, d_10, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_024964214129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wagnerspraytech
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36.36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Stay Connected

Find out what’s new from Wagner including product news, exclusive email offers, promotions and more.